Uploading changes to the server

While you have a file checked out, you can upload changes to the managed file on the server. This allows you to share your work with other users without giving up your lock on the file.

To upload changes to the server:

  1. Open your local copy of the file.
  2. Choose File > Manage Workgroup > Upload to Server.

Adding files to the server

Adding a file to a WebDAV server initiates workgroup management for the file; in other words, you create a managed file by adding it to a server. You can add files to a server using the File > Manage Workgroup > Save or Save As commands. The Save command adds to the server a managed file that has been altered; the Save As command adds a previously unmanaged file to the server.

To add a file to a WebDAV server:

  1. Open the file you want to add to the server.
  2. Do one of the following:
  • To add a managed, but currently checked out file to the server, choose File > ManageWorkgroup > Save.To add a file to a managed workgroup, choose File > Manage Workgroup > Save As.
  1. Choose a server from the pop-up menu; then locate the directory to which you want to save the file.
  2. Type in a file name in the Name text box, and choose a format from the Format pop-upmenu.
  3. To check out the file, select Keep This File Checked Out for Editing.
  4. Click Save.

Setting preferences for managed files

You can set preferences for opening managed files, including how they are checked out, how they are updated, and how links are updated. You can also set preferences for placing managed links

To set preferences for opening managed files:

  1. Choose Edit > Preferences > Workgroup (Windows and Mac OS 9) or Illustrator >Preferences > Workgroup (Mac OS X).
  2. Select one of the following options for Check Out from Server:
  • Ask to display a dialog box when you open a file that is not checked out.
  • Never to open the local copy of the file without displaying a dialog box and without checking it out.
  • Always to automatically check out the file when you open it.
  1. Select one of the following options for Update from Server, and click OK:
  • Ask to display a dialog box asking if you want to download the latest version.
  • Never to open the local copy of the file without displaying a dialog box and without downloading the latest version of the file from the server.
  • Always to automatically download the latest version of the file from the server.
  1. Select one of the following options for Update Links from Server:
  • Ask to display a dialog box asking if you want to download the latest versions of the linked files.
  • Never to open the local copy of the file without displaying a dialog box and without updating links.
  • Always to automatically update links when you open a file.
  • Verify Only to check if links are broken or not the current version, and if so, display icons next to the broken links in the Links palette.

To set preferences for placing managed links:

  1. Choose Edit > Preferences > Workgroup (Windows and Mac OS 9) or Illustrator >Preferences > Workgroup (Mac OS X).
  2. Select one of the following options for Update Links from Server:
  • Always to automatically update links when you place a file.
  • Ask to display a dialog box when you place a file that contains links.
  • Never to place the local copy of the file without displaying a dialog box and without updating links.

To turn off workgroup functionality for this copy of Adobe Illustrator:

Choose Edit > Preferences > Workgroup (Windows and Mac OS 9) or Illustrator >Preferences > Workgroup (Mac OS X), and deselect Enable Workgroup Functionality.

Adding metadata to documents

Metadata, or file information, is descriptive information that can be searched and processed by a computer. Use it to provide information about the contents of a document and to preserve information about a document that will be opened in other Adobe applications. You can add metadata to AI, PDF, or SVG file formats.

To add metadata to a document:

  1. Choose File > File Info.
  2. Select a category from the list on the left side of the dialog box, enter the desired information, and click OK.
  • General specifies information about the document, such as title, author, and description. To specify copyright information, select Yes from the Copyrighted pop-up menu. Then enter the copyright notice string and the URL of the person or company who owns the copyright.
  • Keywords specifies words that can be used to search for the document. To add a word to the list, enter text in the Keyword text box and click Add. To edit or replace a word in the list, select the word, change the text in the Keyword text box, and click Replace. To delete a word from the list, select the word and click Delete.
  • Summary specifies status information for the document, including its creation data, modification data, and location. If the document is a managed file, the server location and checkout status also appears. You cannot edit Summary metadata.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *